Skip to main content

This program incorporates the latest knowledge in cellular and molecular biology.  It will provide you with a cutting-edge understanding of the molecular structure and functioning of cells, both with respect to genetics and gene expression and to the nature and regulation of the structural and functional organization of the cell as it carries out its various activities.

Admission Requirements

Applicants must have a master’s degree in biochemistry or cellular and molecular biology, or an equivalent degree.

Applicants who hold a master’s degree in a related field may be eligible. However, the program director may require students to do qualifying coursework depending on their previous training.

Applicants must have a grade point average of at least 2.67 out of 4.33.

French proficiency

Applicants must have a good knowledge of written and spoken French.

Applicants who are not proficient in French must have an excellent knowledge of English. 

English proficiency

Applicants must have a good understanding of written English.

Research Areas

  • Molecular and cellular functioning of cancer and other diseases
  • Intracellular signaling
  • Potential of stem cells and tissue engineering 
  • Regenerative medicine
  • Molecular neurobiology
  • Vascular biology
  • Infectiology and inflammation

For more information on the program: www.fmed.ulaval.ca/bmo (in French only)

Professors

For a full list of professors, please refer to the descriptions on the Faculty of Medicine website giving their fields of research in cellular and molecular biology. (in French only).

A number of professors have an interest in supervising students under the agreement between UL and the CSC. Their areas of expertise and contact information are provided below.

Barbara Papadopoulou

Research areas: Microbiology, parasitology, molecular biology, genomics, gene regulation
Teacher's profile: http://www.crchudequebec.ulaval.ca/en/research/researchers/barbara-papadopoulou/
Email: barbara.papadopoulou@crchudequebec.ulaval.ca

Chantelle Sephton

Research areas: Neuroscience, neurodegeneration, dementia, ALS
Teacher's profile: https://cervo.ulaval.ca/en/chantelle-f-sephton
Email: chantelle.sephton.1@ulaval.ca

Christian Salesse

Research areas: Overexpression, purification and characterization of vision proteins
Teacher's profile: http://www.crchudequebec.ulaval.ca/en/research/researchers/christian-salesse/
Email: christian.salesse@fmed.ulaval.ca

Cristoforo Silvestri

Jacques P. Tremblay

Research areas: Gene therapies for hereditary diseases
Teacher's profile: http://www.crchudequebec.ulaval.ca/en/research/researchers/jacques-p-tremblay/
Email: jacques-p.tremblay@crchul.ulaval.ca

Jean-Yves Masson

Research areas: DNA repair and cancer therapeutics
Teacher's profile: https://www.jeanyvesmasson.com
Email: jean-yves.masson@fmed.ulaval.ca

Martin Simard

Research areas: Short non-coding RNAs, molecular biology, and genetics
Teacher's profile: http://www.crchudequebec.ulaval.ca/en/research/researchers/martin-simard/
Email: martin.simard@crchudequebec.ulaval.ca

Nicolas Bisson

Research areas: Cell signalling, proteomics, cancer
Teacher's profile: http://www.crchudequebec.ulaval.ca/recherche/chercheurs/nicolas-bisson/
Email: nick.bisson@crchudequebec.ulaval.ca

Patrick Laprise

Research areas: Molecular modelling, proteins, biological membranes
Teacher's profile: http://www.crchudequebec.ulaval.ca/en/research/researchers/patrick-laprise/
Email: patrick.laprise@crchudequebec.ulaval.ca

Paul Dutchak

Research areas: Neurometabolism, biochemistry, epilepsy, autism
Teacher's profile: https://cervo.ulaval.ca/en/paul-dutchak
Email: paul.dutchak.1@ulaval.ca

Pierre Marquet

Research areas: Optics, cellular neuroscience, cellular imaging, psychiatry
Teacher's profile: http://lrnp.copl.ulaval.ca/_EN/index.html
Email: pierre.marquet@neuro.ulaval.ca

Solange Landreville

Steve Bilodeau

Research areas: Genomics, epigenomics, gene expression, cancer
Teacher's profile: http://www.crchudequebec.ulaval.ca/en/research/researchers/steve-bilodeau/
Email: steve.bilodeau@crchudequebec.ulaval.ca

Vincent Pernet

Research areas: Ophthalmology, neuroscience, retinal physiology, therapeutic development, glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy, Alzheimer’s disease, aging
Teacher's profile: http://www.crchudequebec.ulaval.ca/en/research/researchers/vincent-pernet/
Email: vincent.pernet.1@ulaval.ca

Yannick Doyon

Research areas: Targeted genome engineering, genome editing, CRISPR
Teacher's profile: http://www.crchudequebec.ulaval.ca/en/research/researchers/yannick-doyon/
Email: yannick.doyon@crchudequebec.ulaval.ca